What I Did at the End of the Street

A Poem About Domestic Abuse

John Hansen PAL

--

Photo by Inzmam Khan

This poem is not biographical, so please don’t be horrified. I had been going through a dark period, at time of writing, due to some sad and unfortunate personal events, so decided to pen this rather graphic expose on one of our society’s greatest problems.

I originally published this poem elsewhere but felt it would get a wider audience here and that the message still needs sharing.

What I Did at the End of Our Street

I think about days of my childhood
Of steps, I might like to retrace,
All the fun and adventure of boyhood,
And dark thoughts I would rather replace.

With a heart that was oft’ close to breaking
During long fearful nights in my bed,
I thought of the hunger and aching
And dark dreams invading my head.

But now I am back in the present
Once more in a world that has changed,
Most memories no longer pleasant
But of things that were clearly deranged.

--

--

John Hansen PAL

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!